[Home][Guidelines][State Chapters][Conference][Journal][Join us][Members][Contact us]

History of IAMM





Past President's






Awards & Prizes

Photo Gallery

Useful links


IAMM Awards and Prizes :                       List of Award winners


Our members embellished the young IAMM with various awards and prizes. The first annual award based on original contributions, was instituted by Prof. S.C. Agarwal an outstanding medical microbiologist. The organizers of the 3 rd National Congress of IAMM at Bombay, established the IAMM Junior Best Paper Prize which was later renamed in 1990 as the Junior Best Paper Gold Medal, for the younger members below the age of 35 years. From the proceedings of the National Congress of IAMM at Solapur, a permanent fund was established for three purposes, namely (a) Dr. H.I. Jhala Memorial Award for an eminent microbiologist above the age of 50 years, (b) A Gold Medal for the Presidential Oration at the Annual National Congress and (c) An IAMM Grant as the Partial Suport to Conduct Seminar/Symposium and Workshop in the field of Medical Microbiology by our members and/or IAMM Chapters. The IAMM Endowment Oration Award, to be delivered by a senior microbiologist above the age of 50 years, was instituted by the donation received from the organizers of the National Congress of IAMM held at Hyderabad in 1986. Dr. U.C. Chaturvedi Life Time Achievement Award in Microbiology was instituted by donation received from Dr. U.C. Chaturvedi. The IAMM members instituted various awards to best papers/posters in different fields presented during the National Congresses. Dr. S.S. Kelkar Memorial Prize for the Best Poster was instituted in 1996 with donations received from his family members 


The NAWOPIA 95- Dr. Pankajalakshmi V. Venugopal award for best paper in Mycology was instituted in 1998. Dr. S.R. Sengupta Dr. A.M. SaojiMemorial Prize for the Best oral paper in Immunology was established by donations received from organizers of the XXI IAMM Congress at Solapur in 1998. Dr. S.R. Sengupta Memorial Memento for the speakers at the IAMM Symposium was also introduced at the same time. The IAMM Silver Jubilee Award for the best paper in Parasitology was instituted by donations received from Organising Committee, XXIII National Congress of IAMM held in Nov. 1999 at PGIMER, Chandigarh. The award for best paper published on Bacteriology and Virology in IJMM during the preceeding one year was instituted by donations received from Dr. M.K. Lalitha. Indian Journal of Medical Microbiology (IJMM) The IAMM started its own journal, namely Indian Journal of Medical Microbiology, as a quarterly publication from the year 1983. The journal got the recognition of indexing in Excerpta Medica and Chemical abstract in 1987, within few years of starting the same. 


The journal has now been included in MEDLINE. The IAMM also publishes its quarterly IAMM Newsletter by the Secretary, IAMM carrying news of the activities of the IAMM and news of other importance to our members. We have also published few monographs on some important subjects in Microbiology.